West Indies Vs Ireland: West Indies squad announced for T20 series against Ireland, Dwayne Bravo returns

dj bravo

The West Indies team has been announced for the 3-match T20 series against Ireland. Dwayne Bravo is back in the 13-man squad. Bravo played his last T20 International in 2016 and then retired in 2018. However, only last month, Bravo announced his withdrawal from retirement and expressed his desire to play.

After which he has been included in the team for the home series. Apart from this, Rowman Powell has also been included in the team.

Selector Roger Harper said of Bravo’s return that he has been included in the team to strengthen bowling in the death overs. We need to improve our bowling in the last over, there is a drawback. The arrival of Bravo will strengthen the death over bowling.

Harper said that Bravo’s records in the slog-over indicate how good a bowler he is. Apart from this, due to his experience, he can also work as a mentor for other bowlers.

Harper said to Rowman Powell that he is a tremendous all-rounder who can score fast runs in the last over. His performance in domestic cricket has been very good, where he scored 96 runs in addition to scoring 2 centuries. Apart from this, his performance has been very good.

Fabian Allen and Chemo Paul have not been included for this series due to injury. While Jason Holder is laid to rest. The first T20 match between the two teams will be played on 15 January. The second match will take place on 18 and the third on 19 January.

 West Indies playing squad

Kirron Pollard (captain), Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Khairi Pier, Nicholas Pooran, Rowman Powell, Sheriff Rutherford, Lendl Simmons, Hayden Walsh Jr., and Kesrick Williams.

You May Also Like

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons