Caribbean Premier League 2020: Caribbean Premier League 2020 match card

Caribbean Premier League 2020

CPL: The Caribbean Premier League (CPL) T20 tournament will begin next month, on the first day of which the Trinibago Knight Riders will face Guyana Amazon Warriors and defending champions Barbados Tridents at St. Keats and Nevis Patriot.

CPL chief executive Damian Odono said the tournament would be held from August 18 to September 10 at two venues. Of these, 23 matches will be played at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Turuba in Trinidad and Tobago, including the semi-finals and finals. The remaining ten matches will be played at Queen’s Park Oval in Port of Spain.

The West Indies team is one of the first teams to play international cricket after stalling sports activities due to Coronavirus.

He played the first Test match against England at Southampton earlier this month, winning by four wickets. England won the second Test and the third Test and won the series 2–1.

Caribbean cricketers, who have been on segregation for two weeks after arriving in Britain last month, will have to adapt to the T20 format after returning to the West Indies.

Like the series against England, the six-team tournament CPL will also be played in a bio-safe environment in empty stadiums and strict rules will be followed to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Giving information about the tournament, Odono said, ‘When the game returned after a long wait, we saw how much people showed interest in it. People will be more interested in CPL as this will be the first franchise T20 tournament to make a comeback.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons